Girlguiding Dumfriesshire Annual Report and County Awards


The President’s award is presented annually by our County President, to a unit who fulfils the following criteria:

a) To the unit who fulfilled the Five Essentials of Guiding.

b) Showed good examples of a wide and varied programme throughout the  year.

c) Showed good examples of the girls enjoying activities and events away from the meeting place.

d) Showed good examples of involving the local community in the unit and providing service in the local community.


Recent Recipients include:

2014  6th Dumfries Max West Brownies

2015  1st Lorcharbriggs Brownies

2016  2nd Lockerbie Guides

2017  1st Lockerbie Rainbows

2018  7th Annan Brownies

2019  1st Canonbie Guides



The Falkland Shield was donated, in 1990, to Mrs Rosalind Hall, by Mrs W H Fullerton, President of the Falkland Islands Girl Guide Branch Association. The shield was presented in thanks for the training organised by Mrs Hall for Guiders, after the Falklands War.


Although the shield was presented to Mrs Hall, she wished the shield to be awarded annually, for outstanding acts of courage or community service within the County for any girl or adult who is a member of Girlguiding Dumfriesshire.


Recent Recipients of the Falkland Shield include:

2014  Linda Owen

2017  Catherine Lithgow and Vi Halliday

2018  Fiona McKenzie

2019  Fran Brown



The Hazel Award was created in memory of Hazel McCulloch, at the request of her husband Stewart and her family. Hazel was a Guide Guider in Dumfries, District Commissioner, Deputy County Commissioner and latterly County Registration Secretary.


Hazel loved all aspects of Guiding and valued the commitment of the

Guiders. For this reason the award, a brooch, is presented annually

to a leader without any County appointments, who has given outstanding service to her unit. 


Recent Recipients of the Hazel Award:


Sheila Aird 6th Dumfries (Max/West) Brownies

Rachel Gormley 1st Morton Guides

Karen Meiklem 1st Moffat Brownies


Helen Gray 7th Annan Brownies

Fiona McDonald 1st Lochmaben Guides

Jackie Muir 1st Calside Rainbows

Margaret Trotter 1st Calside Rainbows



Catherine Lithgow Canonbie Ranger Unit


Maureen Blackwood 1st Kelloholm Guides

Susan Thomson 3rd Annan Brownies

Image description
Image description
Image description